Still Memories: When a baby dies.

We have three children, two precious little munchkins who fill our days with their vigour and vitality, and one who fills our hearts and minds with her precious memories. We named her Stella and she is our wishing star. Eighteen months and twenty three days ago she was born, still. Every month when the moon is full, my heart aches a little. On the 7th full moon after she was conceived, our Stella died. Although the days and months roll on, I continue to feel utterly shocked that my baby girl died in my body. Unknowingly, I held my daughter as she died. What could be more shocking than that!? I keep thinking … well, that’s all that anyone really wants in the end isn’t it, to be held as you die? I did that for her, and the comfort I feel with that thought is slowly growing.

ImageIt has taken me a very long time to let myself think about those moments; when she died; her birth; her homecoming; her funeral; and after, the pure devastation of her absence. Even still, my mind will only offer up quick flashes of information, testing the waters, assessing how much I can take on any given day. The morsels on offer at the moment involve a lot of silence. The silence of my midwifes’ doppler in that silent clinic room. The silence of the CTG machine in the labour ward. The silence of the medical staff as they crowded around the ultrasound screen, looking for signs of life. My daughters silence as she exited my body into that stuffy, silent delivery room. Silence. Too much damn silence.

Immediately after my husband and I were told that our daughter had died, we were visited by a midwife. Her name was Georgia and her baby girl had been stillborn 10years before. I remember that she was talking and talking and giving us a mass of information all at once. It was like she was desperate to pour all her wisdom into us in that moment, so that we would know what to do. So that we wouldn’t have regrets. My head was whirring like a spinning top, but I remember trying so hard to grasp everything she said. I was in uncharted waters and I needed some kind of compass to show me which way home. She talked a lot about taking every opportunity in the coming days to make memories with our precious baby. She told us to take a million photos; if we could, to take our baby home; to sing to our baby; to hold her; to introduce her to the people we love. Just do everything, she said.

And we did. Stella came home with us for a day and a half. We held her; we introduced her to her brother and her grandparents; we sang to her; we read The Cat in The Hat to her; she stayed the night with us in our bedroom; we dressed her; we bathed her; we took a million photos. We parented her and we adored her fragile little being for that time. At the moment, I have trouble looking at those photos, and her memory box is tucked firmly away in the back of my closet, hardly touched. But I know those memories are there for me when I’m ready. I often wonder how different our experience might have been without Georgia’s advice that day. Would we have done all those things? Would we have made all those precious memories? I am so grateful that she was working that day and that she was able to share her wisdom.  This was the first of many instances of the road rising up to meet us during those dark days and months.

Image

Sitting on my kitchen floor in the sleepless wee hours of the morning trying to plan out my daughters’ funeral, I reflected on all the memories we were creating and I was hit hard with a sense of utter despair. This was it. This was all we’d get of her. She’d be cremated and then she’d be gone. We’d have the photos, her foot prints on a piece of paper, the clothes she wore, her hospital name tag, the cards people sent to us, but that was it. When this time was over, there would be nothing more. I wished so hard to believe in heaven at that time, just to have the hope that she could still be there, somewhere, and that someday I would see her again. I don’t believe in heaven though, and those thoughts offered no solace. Sitting on my kitchen floor, googling away on the laptop, I happened upon this poem by Mary Frye:

Do not stand at my grave and weep,

I am not there; I do not sleep.

I am a thousand winds that blow,

I am the diamond glints on snow,

I am the sun on ripened grain,

I am the gentle autumn rain.

When you awaken in the morning’s hush

I am the swift uplifting rush

Of quiet birds in circling flight.

I am the soft star-shine at night.

Do not stand at my grave and cry,

I am not there; I did not die.

In that moment, these words gave me so much hope for the future. If I could just look for the beauty in the world, then I would be able to find my Stella. She could be with me every single day. An unforgettable sunrise; the delicious warmth of the winter sun on my face; fat dew drops on nasturtium, the full moon rising up over the mountains. She is everywhere. These would be my new memories of her, and I would photograph them and take them with me. And so this is how I live now. I look for my beautiful daughter every single day. Some days she looks for me too, and takes me by surprise with her beauty. Like when I’m walking down our path and an audacious Tui swoops right by in front of me, or when she streaks the sky with bright pinks and oranges as the sun is setting.

Image

This is also how my family remembers Stella. Watching the sun rising this morning with my son and my husband, we talked about how this was our Stella saying Good morning my lovely family. My son wondered out loud if Stella was tickling the sun to wake it up and send it up over the hills. What a beautiful thought. He also calls her our wishing star, and often finds her shining brightly in the night sky. I love that we can all remember her through the natural beauty of the world.

And so we continue, living with, but without our Stella. Since Stella died, we have had a new addition to our family. Our third child and our second daughter. She’s just 7months, but already we talk to her about her big sister. She will know the magical beauty of her sisters’ blessings, just as her brother does now.

7 thoughts on “Still Memories: When a baby dies.

  1. Pingback: A Brutish Virus & Career Angst | Mama Maru

  2. thank you for sharing this, it was beautiful. i am so sorry for your loss and what you have had to endure. like you said – Stella is everywhere, in all her forms of beauty watching over you all. much love xx

    Like

  3. Pingback: Grief, recovery and a baby shower | Mama Maru

  4. Gorgeous. Just gorgeous. In the dew drops on the nasturtium. I can feel the power of that image. May you find Stella everywhere.

    Like

Leave a Reply

